Hello! Prep & Stats!

I gained some weight and now I’m working it off!

I didn’t want a long-winded introduction about the purpose of this blog, so that’s the simplest way to put it.

A snapshot of me: I am twenty-seven years old. I work for a university, dance Argentine tango, spin fire on occasion, and eat all of the INCREDIBLE food that my awesome aspiring chef boyfriend makes. I am a musician and a writer by trade. I have the most adorable cat ever and she is bound to show up in this blog at some point or another. If these entries are posted and I reach my goal, it will be the first time I ever successfully kept up any sort of blog. So, here’s hoping I stick to this!

Some history: I was a regular gym junkie from about 2012-2015. I went for two hours a day almost every day. I could run 8-10 miles and lift without much issue. I was in the best shape of my life. Then, in May of 2015, my father fell ill with cancer (stage IV intravascular B-cell lymphoma – crazy stuff) and died four months later. I was his primary caretaker and put my life completely on hold. When he died, I fell into a pretty significant depression (obviously). Couple that with my own medical issue very shortly after and ending my relationship with my partner of six years, health and fitness were kind of the last things on my mind. Through the year of 2016, I think I can count on both hands the times I actually *went* to the gym. The bright side of this story is that I am now in a wonderful relationship with aforementioned wonderful man! …who lovingly cooked for me and wined and dined me, which sort of killed any motivation whatsoever.

Anyway, rambling aside, I am on the edge of being the heaviest I’ve ever been. Not good for me. So, I’m reclaiming my workout habits and doing this for myself.

Beginning Stats:

Height: 5’8″
Weight: 168 lbs (yikes)
Waist: 30″
Hips: 39″
Neck: 14″
Arm: 12.5″
Leg: 24″

I have already been doing at-home exercises for the last seven days. I know I am fully capable of slimming back down to where I feel most comfortable since I’ve already gotten there before.

Goal: 145-150 lbs

I am following no specific diet. I’m just going to do what feels smart:

  1. Increase protein.
  2. Decrease carbs.
  3. Eat good fats.
  4. Lay off the booze.

I’m not a big snacker and I don’t have much of a sweet tooth, but I do love my mimosas. And beer. And old fashioneds. And…I promise I’m not an alcoholic, but I will admit to indulging more than I should.

So, that’s it. Quick and dirty(ish). Day one post to come shortly.

 

 

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

